Welcome to Australia (NOT)

I am writing this in Perth airport, while waiting for my flight to Brisbane.  For obviously complicated scheduling reasons, my flight from Singapore to Brisbane goes via Perth today.  So I got to experience the amazingly crappy Perth airport arrangements.   It started with a huge long line at immigration, fortunately my APEC card got me past the worst of that.  Oh no, I forgot, it started in Singapore with the plane more than an hour late leaving Singapore, due to a hold on the aircraft to wait for passengers from London.  Fair enough, I suppose, but the flow on effects look bad.  Anyway, past immigration I had a very long wait for my bag, then a very long queue to get through customs, then I emerged to find no help whatsoever for transfer passengers to domestic.  There was a desk there, unstaffed.  I wandered around the terminal looking for some help and finally found a Qantas desk hidden behind a pole and a stairwell.  They gave me a bus pass and said to go and wait.  Well with all the stuffing around I had missed the 3:30 bus and had to wait half an hour for the next one.  A long bus ride to get 500m as the crow flies, and finally to the far end of the domestic terminal.  Drag bags down to wait in another line to drop a bag that has already been checked in.  For heaven’s sake, Australia, WAKE UP.  I travel a lot and you aren’t even competitive with Malaysia or China for passenger service, information, or efficiency.

About shhhog

Living in New Zealand and loving it. I blog mainly about my travel experiences (for my family).
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.