It REALLY Pays to Shop Around

As previously described, I think it would be cool to track the locations of photos we take when in Europe, and I was keen to get a GPS tracker.  On the Channel 10 photo show I described, the Sony tracker was shown off.  Yesterday, I rang Cathay Photo (since they do seem to stock obscure pieces related to photography), and was quoted $299 SGD.  A quick check on Amazon suggested $149 USD, so a fair price might be around $210 SGD but not $300.  Anyway, after my run this morning I decided to go to Bugis (to Sim Lim, the home of all things electronic) just on the off chance they had one and for a better price.  To my surprise, the Sony Square had them at a price of $129!  The guys in the store were convinced they only worked with Sony Cameras, but I had done my research so beat them down to $120 and I have one sitting on my desk now.  I did go out to see if the logger was working (and it was a bit hard to tell, it kept flashing twice which suggested it couldn’t get a signal).

Anyway, I have just downloaded Pro Photo Tools from Microsoft, started it up, clicked the track route (Load from File) function, and read the log straight from the tracker with nothing to do except plug it in to the computer.  Here is the result:

 

image

Not bad, the track is slightly off but only by a few metres.  Here is a better map if you can’t see the trace:

image 

And here is the device itself:

GPS-CS1_with_cara_med

So I am looking forward to trying it out and actually tagging my photos with the location where they were shot.  This should allow me to build a photo tour using Virtual Earth.  You will see one when it is done.

About shhhog

Living in New Zealand and loving it. I blog mainly about my travel experiences (for my family).
This entry was posted in Digital Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.